Advertisement

pre-paleo/clovis artifacts

topic posted Sun, November 11, 2007 - 4:46 PM by  po
Share/Save/Bookmark
i'm new to this tribe. i'm an amateur artifact hunter. i am digesting as many books as i can regarding the pre-historic ice age peoples of pennsylvania, unfortunately i haven't found that many, and those that i did find are 2002 at the latest. do any of you know any recent books on this subject? it wouldn't necessarily have to be about PA, but that would be a bonus.
thanks...
po
posted by:
po
offline po
Pennsylvania
Advertisement
  • Amateur artifact hunter? You mean you search for artifacts to add to a personal collection?
    • po
      po
      offline 2
      yes, that's correct.
      • please remember that is a felony.
        • po
          po
          offline 2
          my pieces are lawfully taken from land that i have permission to take them from. i do not, and would not take pieces from grave sites, or any land that was it was illegal to take pieces from, but thanks for keeping me in line. :) do you know anything about radiocarbon dating?
          • From a purist's perspective, it doesn't matter whether its legal to take the artifacts from a particular piece of land. Every artifact you curate in your private collection is necessarily lost to the public at large, which biases the archaeological record and limits our (yes, I am a professional archaeologist) ability to better understand the big picture. Prepaleo/ Clovis items are rare and keeping them for yourself makes all the professional archaeologists cry.

Unless you are a Native American (and you may be), Prepaleo/ Clovis items do not belong to you. Your collection of such things is essentially coopting the heritage of a group that's already suffered enough.